Planning Commission

Roles & Responsibilities

The Planning Commission acts as the City Council’s hearing body and forwards recommendations to the City Council on land development actions that include preparation of the City’s Comprehensive Plan, which is the framework for land development within the City, zoning regulations, and Façade and Sign Improvement Program grants funded by the Community Development Block Grant program. 

Planning Commissioners are appointed to four-year terms, with a limit of two consecutive terms. Members shall be residents of the City. Chapter 2.36 of the Port Angeles Municipal Code establishes membership criteria and powers of the Planning Commission. The Bylaws of the Planning Commission are available here


Regular meetings of the Planning Commission occur at 6:00 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month unless cancelled. Meetings are currently conducted in a hybrid format, with in-person and virtual attendance options. Regular meetings are held in City Hall Council Chambers and virtually through the Webex platform. City Hall is located at 321 East 5th Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362. To access the City's virtual meetings page, click here.

Meetings may be rescheduled, and special meetings may occur as needed outside of the regular meeting times. Special meeting information will be posted to the City's Meetings & Agendas page.  

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available online prior to the meetings. Draft meeting minutes are available following their approval by the Planning Commission.

Most Recent Agenda 

The Planning Commission provides all materials relevant to upcoming meetings on the City’s website. If there is information related to the Planning Commission that you cannot find, please contact Planning Division staff and they will provide it as soon as practicable.

Position 1 - ChairBen Stanley3/1/2022-2/28/2026
Position 2 - Vice-ChairVACANT3/1/2022-2/28/2026
Position 3Tammy Dziadek3/1/2022-2/28/2026
Position 4Marolee Smith3/1/2021-2/28/2025
Position 5Richie Ahuja3/1/2020-2/29/2024
Position 6James TaylorFilling unexpired term ending 2/29/2024
Position 7Colin Young3/1/2023-2/27/2027

Climate Action Subcommittee: Ben Stanley, Colin Young, and Richie Ahuja

Port Angeles Comprehensive Plan Periodic Update Subcommittee: James Taylor, Tammy Dziadek, and Marolee Smith

Contact Us

Email the Planning Division

Physical Address 
321 East 5th Street
Port Angeles, WA 98362

Phone: 360-417-4750

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.